I Gave Our Puppy a Complex

Standard

I didn’t mean to.  I had the best intentions when this all started, but my poor little puppy has realized that he is a LITTLE puppy.  No longer does he strut around like his bad-ass self.

It all goes back to the shoes.

See, my cats won’t play with the puppy.  He chases them around, bites at their fur and scampers off, expecting they will chase him.  This does not happen.  They hiss and hide under the futon.  So in order to find a suitable playmate (we don’t count, apparently) he turned to shoes.  House slippers, to be exact.  My husband cannot fathom why the dog has latched on to his left house slipper.

I am feigning innocence.

So the pup has been dragging this one shoe around the house.  I don’t understand the fascination, exactly.  He’ll stuff his whole head in it and growl.  Does he think it makes him look bigger?  Is he pretending he’s a bear?  I can’t quite figure it out.  Then he moved on to shaking it around on his head.  It’s not stuck–if it falls off, he tries his best to shove the thing back on.

It’s really funny, but also kinda sad.  A friend who came over and saw it gave him this look that clearly expressed she thought he was challenged.  I know my little tike is a genius, but simply not given the tools to succeed.  So I looked up dog parks.

My husband and I got on our jackets, got the dog in the car and went with high hopes.  First we went to the small dog area, hoping he would find pint-sized puppies to play with.  Instead we found some very small dogs mostly not moving.

Our puppy looked at the dogs and looked at us.  Then we saw the “normal” dog park sections.  Dogs running!  Chasing!  Playing with frisbees!  This was what he needed–someone to tire him out for a change!

Seems size does matter...

But would he be scared?  He was only a foot tall so far.  Would he be intimidated?  Seeing the happy labs and schnauzers rolling around, we were too tempted. Our little boy was a maverick, he’d figure it out.

We didn’t realize one important factor though.  Dogs greet each other by sniffing butts.  Whenever a new dog enters, it’s practically a butt-train.  And little boy just couldn’t reach.  Not many dogs wanted to play with him–he was too small.  The labs didn’t even look down far enough to see him.  He’d run over, do a feint-jump in hopes they would chase, and they didn’t even notice.  Not until the great dane came by.  SUCH a sweet dog, I wanted to take him home immediately.  (I figured if we put him in my jacket and walked him out, nobody would notice.  My hubby disagreed, the buzzkill.)  He came over sniffed puppy.  Puppy could not sniff back.  The greeting was not complete!  He kept following the dane around, be he could never quite return the favor.

He got chased a little by the dane (before he got scared and hid inbetween my legs) and a german shepard that ran fast.  Little boy kept running after the big boys.  He kept good pace, but I guess he wasn’t cool enough for them.  Or tall enough.  I think he started to realize it, and began to eye the labs with jealousy.  Still, he did meet lots of new doggies.  He was exhausted by the end.  Mostly from feinting chase moves only to find no one was looking.  I’m sure next weekend he’ll do better.

In the mean time, I’m giving him back the shoe to boost his ego.

2 thoughts on “I Gave Our Puppy a Complex

Leave a Reply

