The Cycle of Non-Sleep

Standard

I’m sick.  Actually, I don’t know what is wrong.  2 weeks ago I picked up a flu bug going around school, but I have this lingering cough that just won’t die, and I think that at the tail end of the flu bug my allergies kicked in and just kept the cough train going.

This stinks.  It’s so bad that my hubby has been sleeping on the couch for over a week.  At first I thought it was to be sweet and give me a chance to sleep, but now I’m pretty sure it’s to give him a chance to sleep without being woken every five minutes from my cough.

I have cough medicine, allergy medicine and the whole works.   None of it helps.  Constant drainage, constant cough.  The only thing that stops it at all is hot tea, but now I cough all the time AND I have to pee like a racehorse.  Do you know how miserable it is to have a full body cough with a full bladder?

Well, I haven’t slept in about 2 weeks now.  I’m exhausted.  How am I supposed to get better if I can’t rest?  To illustrate my point, I have drawn what happens every half hour  every night:

And then repeat until 8 a.m.  My immune system can suck it.

4 thoughts on “The Cycle of Non-Sleep

  1. Wow. No, I’m not that bad. The soreness in my throat is the worst, and Nyquil does a good job knocking me out.

    Also, your comment came to my email inbox, but didn’t show on my page – I didn’t delete it, I swear!

  2. Risa

    Girlie, pound the garlic. Like cut up a clove into a bunch of little pieces and swallow it like a pill. Garlic is anti-viral *and * anti-bacterial…so whatever you have it’ll kill. :0

Leave a Reply

