On Growing Apart

Standard

This has happened a handful of times to me, starting in 3rd grade when I moved a few blocks away. I don’t like to make a fuss, a big scene. What good can that do?  I wonder if anyone else goes through the same process. I assume I’m not alone, but I thought this might explain the stages of my slow, quiet exit.

Sometimes, you are as happy as you can be with a companion.
balloon1

You might tug every once in a while, but you’re only doing what seems natural.

balloon2

And everything seems fine.
balloon1

Then you notice that you don’t get the same response. You wonder if you’re doing something wrong.
balloon3

You make contact best you can, with no response. You try to compensate the best you can.
balloon4

Then you try to ignore it, hoping some space will bring you both back together. But it isn’t the same.
balloon5
You realize how hard it is to hold on. You think they don’t even notice your effort. Or that maybe they don’t care.
balloon6

Eventually, you quietly bow to the inevitable.  You let go.
balloon7Goodbye, Friend.

One thought on “On Growing Apart

Leave a Reply

